Candidacy Begins

I was inducted into the community on August 2, 2013.  I received my habit, but not the veil. I also received the community cross, which I love.  We celebrated by going out to dinner.

My Mum was here with me for a few days, to help me settle in and meet the community.

I struggle to wake up earlier than I am used too. The sisters do not let me work directly with the animals, because I have sensory issues and it takes me a while to get used to them. School starts on the 15th.

I love the community’s mission, but sometimes wonder if I can live on a farm. I am just not used to being so close to nature and sometimes insects come into my room too, and so do frogs.

I am really trying. I wish God would have chosen a different venue for me, with the same sisters and ministry, but I guess God knows what he is doing, and I have to place my trust in him.

I help out with what I can. I am still awaiting my schedule so my assigned duties become more clear to me.

I do miss family and friends and Canada.

I have a sense that God is calling me to abandon all my fears and just trust in him.

As the old hymn goes, “One day at a time Jesus, is all I am asking from you, help me today, show me the way, one day at a time.”

2 thoughts on “Candidacy Begins

  1. prayinganglicanlayman says:

    What an exciting adventure! God bless you on this new phase of your life! I’m sure you will soon get used to the animals and start feeling more comfortable around them. I have a couple of cows, and now I can’t imagine how I lived in London (Ontario) without them! Sometimes I think that God wants to sand down the rough places in our hearts…
    Looking forward to hearing more!
    -Ian

  2. learningtotrustgod says:

    Thanks Ian. I help with the birds for now. I used to have real phobias of animals, so I have made some progress. As with all things it’s going to take time.

Leave a Reply

