Don’t Sell Yourself Short

There are many discerner’s like me who are on the quieter side. We are not impulse. We like to think before we talk. We like to look before we leap. It’s easy to read more out-going people. With people who are quieter it takes time for others to get to know you. It’s easy to come across people who are judgemental or quick to judge you. There are those who think they have everything figured out about a person, whether it’s a friend, a counsellor or just someone you know.

If this sounds like something you have come across. The advice is do not sell yourself short. You know yourself better than others do. You know your strengths and weaknesses. You have to take a stand and not buy into negative things others may say. Prove them wrong. 

There are two stereotypes about those entering religious life. You are either superwoman or you are trying to escape the world and all in it. 

You are a person like everybody else. You need time to grow, to love, to become the person God wants you to be.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Don’t Sell Yourself Short

  1. I enjoy this post. I’ve always been the one to prove people wrong when they say negative things about you but when it’s in the family…I got tired of having to prove something…Just accept me the way I am! – It lead to a lot of heated discussions but I just got to a point where I just want peace and quiet – Don’t bother me… I’ve changed a lot though, realizing there was a lot of things I had to change the more spiritual and closer I got to God. I just absorbed and read about Church History, Catechism, Doctrine and the Saints like it was a bottle of a water and I wanted more!! I got to where I love lectio divina, helping out in my parish community and very Marian with all my scapulars and daily rosary. 🙂 I started to really enjoy to write and reflect on Scripture each day and thus started to go to Daily Mass. I have no idea what kind of charism I might have but anyway I love all the classic orders like Benedictines, Franciscans, Carmelites and Dominicans 🙂 Pray for me in my discernment and I’ll pray that entering your order in Sarasota, FL goes well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

