Listen

An important thing to do when discerning a vocation is to listen. Listen to people more qualified than you. Listen to what they have to say about your strengths and weaknesses. You are not always going to like what they have to say, but God has a message for you in what they tell you.

Listening to my spiritual director and those I know in religious life has helped me understand where God is leading me better and has helped me to come to terms with things about myself that I know I should, but do not want too.

I have learnt that I need to be more patient. God unfolds his plans in stages. It’s not like a psychic who will give you quick answers but take all your money. (don’t worry, I have not tried it)

If someone has a vocation, God created them for that vocation and for that particular community or person.

Nobody likes to admit their weaknesses, such as the fact that an over-active community would burn me out, since I need sometime to reflect and think too. On the other hand, a strictly cloistered community would provide me with an outlet to vent because there would be no place for me to go.

There is no point in pretending that I can do something sometime in the future. I need to look at what can I do know, and what community would I fit into as I am at this present time. A community where I could grow to become myself more fully. Become the person God created me to be.

I will continue to pray that I find this.

P.S. And how could I forget listen to your Mum.  Mothers are irreplaceable.

Leave a Reply

